Generation Awake

Waste is a resource. The European Commission shows, how consumers can act in a more sustainable and responsible way on a daily basis.

 

With infographics and a colourful brochure, the EU Commission displays the recycling habits of European citizens. There is still a lot of catching-up to do. The name of the campaign – "Generation Awake" – points to the aim of the Commission: to create more awareness for our environment and motivate consumers to take daily steps for a more sustainable way of living.

 

Tips and facts

 

The spectrum of the information material goes from water to waste. Short summaries of the main topics are provided with the sheets "facts and figures" and the "personal tips". The brochure is also suitable for children since it is colorful designed and well structured.

 

Who likes a more interactive approach may take a look at the website. By the example of an apartment building with animated everyday objects and videos, the visitor gets a lot of information about recycling. The "Generation Awake" campaign is also on Facebook, where the consumer himself can become an "Awakener".

 

Background

 

The campaign is part of a big environment initiative of the EU, which aims at a more sustainable and ecological Europe. Its one project of the "Resource Efficiency Initiative" which was established in 2011 as part of the "Europe 2020" strategy. There's a whole range of projects, from a "Birds Directive" to a "Green Cars Initiative".

Generation Awake

Müll hat einen Wert. Wie man bewusster mit dieser Ressource umgeht und welche Schritte man täglich ohne großen Aufwand setzen kann, erklärt eine Initiative der Europäischen Kommission.

 

In Grafiken und einer anschaulichen Broschüre informiert die EU-Kommission über das Recycling-Verhalten der europäischen Bevölkerung. Hier gebe es noch viel Spielraum zu einem schonenderen und nachhaltigeren Umgang mit Ressourcen. Die Kampagne trägt den Titel "Generation Awake" (deutsch: "Wachsame Generation") und soll ein größeres Bewusstsein für Umweltthemen schaffen.

 

Tipps und Fakten

 

Das Spektrum des Informationsmaterials reicht vom täglichen Wasserverbrauch bis hin zur Reduzierung des Abfalls. Auf wenigen Seiten wird in den Blättern "Zahlen und Fakten" und "Persönliche Tipps" das Wichtigste zusammengefasst. Die Broschüre ist auch für Kinder gut geeignet, da sie schön gegliedert und bunt gestaltet ist.

 

Wer es etwas interaktiver mag, kann sich auf der eigens eingerichteten Homepage austoben. Dort wird anhand eines Wohnhauses mit mehreren Zimmern verdeutlicht, wie jeder mit wenigen Handgriffen etwas beitragen kann. Per Mausklick auf einzelne animierte Gegenstände oder anhand von Videos wird nachhaltiger Umgang mit Ressourcen erklärt. Auf Facebook kann man der "Generation Awake" beitreten und so selbst zu einem "Awakener" werden.

 

Hintergrund


Die Kampagne ist Teil einer groß angelegten Umwelt-Initiative der EU, deren Ziel ein ökologisches und nachhaltiges Europa ist. Als Teil der Strategie "Europa 2020" wurde 2011 die "Ressourceneffizienz-Initiative" entwickelt. Generation Awake ist dabei nur eines von vielen weiteren Projekten. Das Spektrum reicht von einer Vogelschutzrichtlinie bis hin zur "Green Car Initiative".