Buyer Protection

Brexit - travellers and consumers

In the referendum on 23 June 2016, 52 percent of Britons voted in favour of Brexit. On 24 December, the EU and the UK concluded a far-reaching trade and partnership agreement. What are the consequences for consumers in Europe? Here are some hints about the changes from the perspective of travellers and consumers

Gift vouchers in Europe

Gift vouchers are popular and have certainly landed under the Christmas tree for many. In the meantime, they do not even stop at national borders within the EU. But are gift vouchers even allowed to be bought and redeemed in another EU country? When do they expire? The European Consumer Centres Network (ECC-Net) provides information.

7 important questions about Geo-blocking

The Geo-blocking regulation comes into force EU-wide on December 3rd, 2018. She prohibits discrimination of consumers based on their nationality or place of residence when shopping cross-border – online or offline.

Streaming across borders

Since 1. April 2018, a new regulation of the EU regarding "cross-border portability of online content services" is in force. It enables consumers to use their subscriptions for movies, music or sport streaming services abroad like at home.

EU: Price comparison of parcel delivery services

Whenever a parcel has to be sent cross-border, the price for its delivery would increase significantly - regardless of the actual distance. Many Europeans therefore avoid shopping in another country. The EU wants to change that and created new rules for parcel delivery services.

Geoblocking

Shopping on a website with a foreign domain is often impossible as companies restrict the access for consumers.

Online shopping: Unjustified barriers in the EU

ECC-Net report finds EU shoppers still face unjustified discrimination due to nationality and place of residence. Some traders use business practices such as geo-blocking to create artificial barriers and restrict consumers’ access to services.

Consultation about Geoblocking

21.12.2015 / Reminder: Your opinion about geographically-based restrictions in online shopping and traditional trade

Consumer Scoreboard 2015

The Consumer Scoreboard, an annual survey of the EU Commission, shows where consumers see problems within the European Single Market.

Rental car companies announce improvements for consumers

Car rental companies tended to cause anger among consumers in the past. Many conflicts are based on lack of transparency regarding the online booking process as well as payment demands due to alleged damages on the car.

Shopping abroad

From time to time, consumers shopping abroad are confronted with discrimination. The European Consumer Centre helps.

Car rental companies change business practices

Three leading providers have to work on their website to adjust it to the Services Directive. It prohibits discrimination of consumers due to their place of residence or nationality. The car rental companies Hertz, Avis and Europcar will redesign their business practices after a "constructive dialog" with the European Commission.

Sozialministerium
VKI
EU
ECC
DATA PROTECTION IS IMPORTANT TO US!

Please give us permission to use your data for internal analysis. We do not pass on your data. Please also read our data protection declaration.

Käuferschutz

AK Klage gegen Bezahldienst Klarna

Die Arbeiterkammer registriert zahllose Beschwerden zum Bezahldienst Klarna und klagt nun diese schwedische Bank, die während der Corona Pandemie stark gewachsen ist. Klarna wickelt Online Transaktionen bei Einkäufen in Online-Shops ab und ermöglicht Zahlung auf Rechnung. Auch das EVZ hat täglich Beschwerdeanrufe zu Klarna und erwartet das Urteil mit Spannung.

Valentinstag: Partnervermittlung kann teuer werden

Die Werbeindustrie vermarktet den Valentinstag mit kostenfreien Testzugängen oder Rabatt-Aktionen und versprechen Gleichgesinnte zu finden. Viele User finden sich aber nach Ende der Aktionsangebote in kostenpflichtigen Jahresabos wieder.

Brexit - Reisende und Verbraucher

Bei dem Referendum am 23. Juni 2016 haben 52 Prozent der Briten für den Brexit gestimmt. am 24.12 haben die EU und UK ein weitgehendes Handels- und Partnerschaftsabkommen geschlossen. Welche Folgen hat das für Konsumenten in Europa? Hier einige Hinweise über die Änderungen aus Sicht von Reisenden und Konsumenten

Coronavirus: Absagen von Veranstaltungen

Österreichische Behördenvorgaben zu ausgefallenen Veranstaltungen: Neues "KuKuSpoSi" Gesetz regelt Entschädigungsansprüche von Konsumenten im Bezug auf Gutscheine.

Gutscheine in Europa

Geschenkgutscheine sind beliebt und sicher bei vielen unter dem Weihnachtsbaum gelandet. Mittlerweile machen sie auch vor den Landesgrenzen innerhalb der EU nicht Halt. Doch: Darf man Gutscheine überhaupt in einem anderen EU-Land kaufen und einlösen? Wann verfallen diese? Das Netzwerk der Europäischen Verbraucherzentren (ECC-Net) gibt Auskunft.

7 wichtige Fragen zu Geoblocking

Die Geoblocking-Verordnung gilt EU-weit ab dem 3. Dezember 2018. Sie verbietet die Diskriminierung von Konsumenten aufgrund ihrer Nationalität oder ihres Wohnsitzes bei grenzüberschreitenden Einkäufen – online und offline.

Unbegrenzt streamen

Mit 1. April 2018 tritt eine neue Verordnung der EU zur „grenzüberschreitenden Portabilität von Online-Inhaltediensten“ in Kraft. Hinter diesem sperrigen Titel versteckt sich die Möglichkeit, kostenpflichtige Abos für Filme, Musik oder Sportübertragungen im Urlaub wie zuhause nutzen zu können.

EU-Preisvergleich für Paketdienste

Sobald ein Paket über die Grenze geschickt werden soll, scheint der Preis unverhältnismäßig zu steigen - unabhängig von der tatsächlichen Entfernung. Das hält viele Europäer davon ab, grenzüberschreitend einzukaufen. Das soll sich jetzt ändern: Die EU hat neue Regeln für Paketdienste verabschiedet.

Geoblocking

Wer im Internet auf einer Website mit ausländischer Domain einkaufen möchte, blitzt allzu oft ab, weil die Firmen dies nicht zulassen. Wir fordern ein Ende des Geoblocking.

Online-Shopping: Unzulässige Barrieren in der EU

Der neue Bericht des ECC-Net zeigt, dass EU-Bürger immer noch aufgrund ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit oder Wohnsitzes diskriminiert werden. Manche Händler nutzen Geschäftspraktiken wie Geoblocking, um künstliche Barrieren aufzubauen und den Zugang von Konsumenten zu Dienstleistungen zu beschränken.

Verbraucherbarometer 2015

Der Verbraucherbarometer, eine jährliche Erhebung der EU-Kommission, zeigt auf, wo es aus Sicht der Konsumenten Probleme im europäischen Binnenmarkt gibt.

Mietwagenfirmen: Verbesserungen für Verbraucher angekündigt

Mietwagenfirmen haben in der Vergangenheit ungewöhnlich oft für Ärger bei Konsumenten gesorgt. Vor allem mangelnde Transparenz bei der Buchung im Internet, sowie bei Zahlungsforderungen aufgrund angeblicher Schäden am Mietwagen sind Auslöser für Konflikte.

Einkaufen im Ausland

Beim grenzüberschreitenden Einkauf kommt es immer wieder zu Fällen von Diskriminierung. Das Europäische Verbraucherzentrum hilft weiter.

Sozialministerium
VKI
EU
ECC
DATENSCHUTZ IST UNS WICHTIG!

Bitte erteilen Sie uns die Zustimmung, Ihre Daten zur internen Analyse zu verwenden. Wir geben Ihre Daten nicht weiter. Lesen Sie auch unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung.