Rights & Rules

Online gambling in Austria

Many affected gamblers do not even know that they can reclaim gambling debts they have incurred at foreign casinos or online casinos. These foreign companies do not have a licence in Austria. Our article explains the background and possibilities.

What you should bear in mind when placing orders in other EU countries

In our globalised everyday life, contracting foreign companies is no longer unusual and the freedom to provide services is a fundamental right in the EU. We explain which rules and obligations apply and what you should look out for before placing orders with foreign companies.

AK lawsuit against payment service Klarna

The Chamber of Labour registers countless complaints about the payment service Klarna and is now suing this Swedish bank, which grew strongly during the Corona pandemic. Klarna handles online transactions for purchases in online shops and enables payment on account. The ECC also has daily complaint calls about Klarna and is eagerly awaiting the verdict.

Strike: Airline has to refund says ECJ

A decision by the ECJ has once again clearly strengthened air passenger rights. If a flight is cancelled or significantly delayed due to an announced strike by airline staff, passengers may have a right to compensation.

Review of 1 year of legal assistance by ECC in Corona-related consumer cases

In 2020, victims turned more than ever to the European Consumer Centre (ECC) Austria, part of the Austrian Association for Consumer Information (VKI). We used this year's World Consumer Day (15 March) as an opportunity to take a retrospective look at our counselling activities in one year of Corona.

Brexit - travellers and consumers

In the referendum on 23 June 2016, 52 percent of Britons voted in favour of Brexit. On 24 December, the EU and the UK concluded a far-reaching trade and partnership agreement. What are the consequences for consumers in Europe? Here are some hints about the changes from the perspective of travellers and consumers

Worldwide travel warning except for 10 countries

As of midnight tonight, i.e. as of 00:00 on 19.12.2020, a travel warning issued by the Austrian Foreign Ministry applies to practically the entire world. 10 states are exempt from this. What does this mean for a planned trip for the holidays?

Parship loses lawsuit over excessive subscription revocation

Those who want to find new life partners through Parship could be confronted with high costs as soon as they change their mind and only use the service for a short time. European Court of Justice declares offsetting practice invalid.

European Order for Payment Procedure

The European order for payment procedure simplifies the process of litigation in cross-border cases for consumers. It was established on 12.12.2008 in all EU Member States, except for Denmark.

ECJ ruling against misleading air fares

Clarity about ancillary costs of airline tickets was sued for in Italy by consumer advocates. Ryanair must clearly display ancillary costs for airline tickets, the European Court of Justice has ruled.

Government cancels all events

The Coronavirus paralyses public life in spring to Easter. A public event ban was issued by the Austrian Government.

Fraud traps in social media

Consumers often fall prey to psychological stimuli that cause them to act impulsively and rashly. Read here about scams on social media and the new CPC Regulation, which improves the warning system and enforcement of consumer offences in the EU.

Transit plates in the EU

If you bought a new car in a foreign EU Member State and want to transit it to your home country, you need a transit plate. The ECC-Net gathered all necessary information about national regulations in a new brochure.

Brexit: Scam with small ads

Brexit is not just concerning international politicians. Fraudsters are now increasingly using the UK's exit from the EU for their schemes on the internet.

New rules in data protection

The European General Data Protection Regulation, GDPR, was implemented in Austria. We summarised the most important new rules for consumers.

Winter tire obligations in Europe

In time for the winter travel season, we present an overview over the different obligations regarding winter tires in Europe. The information was gathered and is provided by our Network of the European Consumer Centres (ECC-Net).

7 important questions about Geo-blocking

The Geo-blocking regulation comes into force EU-wide on December 3rd, 2018. She prohibits discrimination of consumers based on their nationality or place of residence when shopping cross-border – online or offline.

Airbnb: Changes of T&C

Airbnb has to change its Terms & Conditions on the European market as they don't comply with the current EU law.

Streaming across borders

Since 1. April 2018, a new regulation of the EU regarding "cross-border portability of online content services" is in force. It enables consumers to use their subscriptions for movies, music or sport streaming services abroad like at home.

EU: Price comparison of parcel delivery services

Whenever a parcel has to be sent cross-border, the price for its delivery would increase significantly - regardless of the actual distance. Many Europeans therefore avoid shopping in another country. The EU wants to change that and created new rules for parcel delivery services.

Modernisation of rail passenger rights

The European Commission is updating the European rules on rail passenger rights to better protect train travellers in case of delays, cancellations or discrimination.

Comparison websites are often misleading

While it becomes more and more common to book hotels and flights online, consumers are encountering a growing number of problems with online travel services. These services are now among the most frequent consumer complaints according to the European Consumer Centres.

Sozialministerium
VKI
EU
ECC
DATA PROTECTION IS IMPORTANT TO US!

Please give us permission to use your data for internal analysis. We do not pass on your data. Please also read our data protection declaration.

Rechte & Pflichten

Was man bei Aufträgen ins EU-Ausland beachten sollte

In unserem globalisierter Alltag ist die Beauftragung ausländischer Firmen nichts Außergewöhnliches mehr und die Dienstleistungsfreiheit ein Grundrecht in der EU. Wir klären auf welche Regeln und Pflichten gelten und worauf man achten sollte, bevor man Aufträge an ausländische Firmen erteilt.

KreuzfahrtSafari ist insolvent

Wir berichteten Anfang 2021 über die Probleme beim deutschen Kreuzfahrtenanbietr "KreuzfahrtSafari". Seit Ende Juni befindet sich das Unternehmen offiziell im Konkursverfahren. Beschädigte sollten sich beim Insolvenzverwalter registrieren!

AK Klage gegen Bezahldienst Klarna

Die Arbeiterkammer registriert zahllose Beschwerden zum Bezahldienst Klarna und klagt nun diese schwedische Bank, die während der Corona Pandemie stark gewachsen ist. Klarna wickelt Online Transaktionen bei Einkäufen in Online-Shops ab und ermöglicht Zahlung auf Rechnung. Auch das EVZ hat täglich Beschwerdeanrufe zu Klarna und erwartet das Urteil mit Spannung.

Streik: Fluglinie muss rückerstatten sagt EuGH

Eine Entscheidung des EuGH hat die Fluggastrechte abermals klar gestärkt. Wenn ein Flug wegen eines angekündigten Streiks der Airline-Mitarbeiter gestrichen wird oder deutlich verspätet ist, können  Passagiere ein Recht auf Entschädigung haben.

1 Jahr juristische Hilfe durch EVZ in Verbraucherfällen mit Corona Bezug

Geschädigte wendeten sich 2020 mehr denn ja an das Europäische Verbraucherzentrum (EVZ) Österreich, angesiedelt im Verein für Konsumenteninformation (VKI). Den heurigen Weltverbrauchertag (15.März) nahmen wir zum Anlass eine Retrospektive über unsere Beratungsaktivität in einem Jahr Corona.

Brexit - Reisende und Verbraucher

Bei dem Referendum am 23. Juni 2016 haben 52 Prozent der Briten für den Brexit gestimmt. am 24.12 haben die EU und UK ein weitgehendes Handels- und Partnerschaftsabkommen geschlossen. Welche Folgen hat das für Konsumenten in Europa? Hier einige Hinweise über die Änderungen aus Sicht von Reisenden und Konsumenten

Geoblocking – Millionenstrafen im Computerspielsektor

Valve und fünf andere Computerspieldistributoren sprachen sich ab um Produkte in gewissen EU Ländern zu unterbinden. Über 7 Millionen Euro an Bußgeldern wurden verhängt, eine österreichische Firma ist darunter. Verbraucher können uns wettbewerbswidriges Verhalten, etwa wie bei Verstößen gegen die EU Geoblocking Verordnung melden.

Weltweite Reisewarnung bis auf 10 Länder

Ab heute Mitternacht, also ab dem 19.12.2020 um 00:00 Uhr gilt eine Reisewarnung des österreichischen Außenministeriums für praktisch die ganze Welt. 10 Staaten sind davon ausgenommen. Was bedeutet das für eine angedachte Reise zu den Festtagen?

Aliaz zu hoher Strafzahlung verurteilt

Erster Erfolg gegen die lettische Firma, die europaweit dubiose Potenzmittel und Abnehmpillen vertreibt und dabei versucht Verbrauchern unerwünschte Abonnements aufzuhalsen.

Europäisches Mahnverfahren

Wenn es zu keiner außergerichtlichen Einigung zwischen Konsumenten und Unternehmen kommen kann und diese in unterschiedlichen EU Ländern ansässig sind, dann gibt es zwei vereinfachte und kostengünstigere Varianten zur Streitbeilegung vor Gericht.

EuGH Urteil gegen irreführende Flugpreise

Klarheit über Nebenkosten von Flugtickets wurde in Italien von Verbraucherschützern eingeklagt. Ryanair muss Nebenkosten für Flugtickets klar anzeigen urteilt der Europäische Gerichtshof.

Alle Veranstaltungen abgesagt

Das Coronavirus legt im Frühjahr bis Ostern das öffentliche Leben lahm. Ein Verbot öffentlicher Veranstaltungen wurde von der österreichischen Regierung erlassen.

Betrugsfallen in Social Media

Konsumenten fallen häufig psychologischen Anregungen zum Opfer, die sie dazu veranlassen, impulsiv und unüberlegt zu handeln. Lesen Sie hier über Scams in sozialen Medien und die neue CPC Verordnung, welche das Warnsystem und die Durchsetzung bei Verbraucherrechtsvergehen in EU verbessert.

Überstellungskennzeichen in der EU

Wer sein Auto in einem anderen EU-Mitgliedsstaat kauft, kann dieses selbst importieren. Voraussetzung dafür ist ein Überstellungskennzeichen. Eine Broschüre des EVZ-Netzwerkes informiert über nationale Bestimmungen.

Brexit: Abzocke mit Kleinanzeigen

Der Brexit ist nicht nur für die internationale Politik nervenaufreibend: Vermehrt nutzen inzwischen auch Betrüger den britischen EU-Austritt für ihre Machenschaften im Internet.

Neue Spielregeln im Datenschutz

Die europäische Datenschutzgrundverordnung, kurz DSGVO, wurde auch in Österreich umgesetzt. Wir haben die wichtigsten Neuerungen zusammengefasst.

Winterreifen-Pflicht in Europa

Rechtzeitig zur Winter-Reisezeit bieten wir einen Überblick über die Winterreifen-Pflicht in Europa. Die Informationen wurden von unserem Netzwerk der Europäischen Verbraucherzentren (ECC-Net) gesammelt und zur Verfügung gestellt.

7 wichtige Fragen zu Geoblocking

Die Geoblocking-Verordnung gilt EU-weit ab dem 3. Dezember 2018. Sie verbietet die Diskriminierung von Konsumenten aufgrund ihrer Nationalität oder ihres Wohnsitzes bei grenzüberschreitenden Einkäufen – online und offline.

Airbnb muss AGB anpassen

Die Plattform Airbnb muss ihre Geschäftsbedingungen am europäischen Markt ändern, da sie in ihrer jetzigen Form nicht mit den geltenden EU-Vorschriften vereinbar sind.

Unbegrenzt streamen

Mit 1. April 2018 tritt eine neue Verordnung der EU zur „grenzüberschreitenden Portabilität von Online-Inhaltediensten“ in Kraft. Hinter diesem sperrigen Titel versteckt sich die Möglichkeit, kostenpflichtige Abos für Filme, Musik oder Sportübertragungen im Urlaub wie zuhause nutzen zu können.

EU-Preisvergleich für Paketdienste

Sobald ein Paket über die Grenze geschickt werden soll, scheint der Preis unverhältnismäßig zu steigen - unabhängig von der tatsächlichen Entfernung. Das hält viele Europäer davon ab, grenzüberschreitend einzukaufen. Das soll sich jetzt ändern: Die EU hat neue Regeln für Paketdienste verabschiedet.

Sozialministerium
VKI
EU
ECC
DATENSCHUTZ IST UNS WICHTIG!

Bitte erteilen Sie uns die Zustimmung, Ihre Daten zur internen Analyse zu verwenden. Wir geben Ihre Daten nicht weiter. Lesen Sie auch unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung.